henryherz.com

Children's & Fantasy/Sci-Fi Books

Interview with ‘Blood of the Fey’ author Alessa Ellefson

Leave a comment

Like knights errant of old, author Alessa Ellefson found herself all over the globe in search of adventures. But far from constraining herself to this world, she’s also explored countless imaginary ones through stories. It is therefore no surprise that she’s nurtured a passion for reading and writing that’s translated into her first published novel: ‘Blood of the Fey’.

Ms. Ellefson will be signing her book at 6:00pm on June 5 at Mosaic Wine Bar, 3422 30th St., San Diego, (619) 906-4747.

SONY DSC

For what age audience do you write?

I really like the young adult (YA) genre—it’s quite diverse, and allows me to be as whimsical as I want to be, which is why I also love the fantasy genre. However, I don’t want to be boxed into any category for I like to venture into any genre/style that sparks my imagination.

Tell us about your latest book

‘Blood of the Fey’ is the first in the Morgana Trilogy. It’s inspired by the Arthurian legends and Celtic folklore, but set in modern times. The main character is Morgan, Arthur’s half-sister. She’s usually portrayed as someone with a rather Machiavellian nature who aims to destroy the Knights of the Round Table, which for some odd reason always riled me up. So I decided to take matters into my own hands.

What will readers will get from your book?

I really hope readers will get to plunge into this world and forget about their daily nuisances, and come back out of it feeling more refreshed and ready to face the world and the personal quests it sets us on.

What aspect of writing do you find most challenging?

Actually sitting down to write. It’s like waiting in line for a roller coaster—all nerves and fear, but one you finally get on, the ride is so much fun!

What’s a powerful lesson you’ve learned from being a writer?

Don’t give up. Ever. If this is something you truly want to do, no matter what others say, keep chugging at it, working on it until you get good enough. And even then, you don’t stop, always pushing yourself harder. Some of my harshest critics have been people close to me *cough* family *cough*, and though their comments certainly stung, they also spurred me to push myself harder. In a way, if it weren’t for them, I probably wouldn’t have had this book published!

What’s a memorable experience you’ve had?

The one that really strikes me was when a friend of mine, who’d read several versions of the book already, texted me after reading my latest version to let me know she’d been so engrossed in the story that she’d forgotten her pain (she was very sick at the time).

What advice would you give to aspiring authors?

Read and write as much as possible, be open to constructive criticism, and don’t give up. It might not happen right away, but if you stop everything now, nothing ever will. Believe in yourself

Do you have any favorite quotes?

Just like how I don’t have a favorite color, I also don’t have a favorite quote. It all depends on my mood at the time.

Do you have any strange rituals that you observe when you write?

I don’t have any voodoo ritual or magic spell I chant before any writing session, but I do have a very rigorous system about putting a book together, from the initial idea to the final product, which is detailed in my Q&A on my website.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Control energy (dark and otherwise) any way I want to—then I could truly do anything I want. But it’s a good thing I can’t do it, for I can get really angry with bad drivers and… well, let’s just say the resulting picture would not be pretty.

If you could have three authors (alive or dead) over for dinner, who would it be?

Jo Rowling – she’s a tremendous source of inspiration, and appears from her writing to have a tremendously wry sense of humor.

Charles Dickens – I’ve always loved his way of expressing himself, as well as his stories which show he was rather open-minded for his times.

Alexandre Dumas – the man behind great adventures such as ‘The Count of Monte Cristo’, and ‘The Three Musketeers’ amongst many others. Need I say more?

What is your favorite creature that exists only in literature?

Dragons. Preferably a pocket-sized one with the temperament of a dog. Though if s/he could be like Toothless in ‘How To Train Your Dragon’, that’d be cool too!

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I have a full-time job when not writing, so it does somewhat limit the range of my outside activities (for now), but I like to read (anything, really, I love to learn new things), draw, spend time with friends, sports, traveling, board games… The more varied the activities, the better!

What would you like it to say on your tombstone?

I don’t want a tombstone. I’d like to be mummified and preserved in a family vault.

Where can readers find your work?

My book is available on Amazon, and will become available on other sales platforms as well (such as the Barnes and Noble website) soon (my book just came out).

This article is also posted to the San Diego Children’s Books Examiner

Author: Henry Herz

Children's book author

Leave a Reply

