henryherz.com

Children's & Fantasy/Sci-Fi Books

Pre-SDCC interview with IDW graphic novel publisher Chris Ryall

Leave a comment

Chris Ryall is a comic book writer and Chief Creative Officer/Editor-in-Chief of IDW Publishing. Despite being swamped with preparations for IDW’s participation in the upcoming San Diego Comic-Con, he has graciously agreed to talk with us about writing and publishing.

RyallChris

IDW Publishing currently publishes a wide range of comic books and graphic novels including titles based on Angel, Doctor Who, GI Joe, Star Trek, Terminator: Salvation, and Transformers. Creator-driven titles include ‘Fallen Angel’ by Peter David and JK Woodward, ‘Locke & Key’ by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez, and a variety of titles by writer Steve Niles including ‘Wake the Dead’, ‘Epilogue’, and ‘Dead, She Said’.

Artists Ashley Wood and Ben Templesmith are both exclusive to the company, and their titles include ‘Lore’, ‘Popbot’, ‘Sparrow’, ‘Swallow’, ‘Zombies vs. Robots’ (Wood) and ‘Groom Lake’, ‘Singularity 7’, ‘Welcome to Hoxford’, and ‘Wormwood’ (Templesmith). Both Wood and Templesmith have been nominated for multiple Eisner Awards.

For what age audience does IDW publish?
Pretty much all at this point–comics like My Little Pony have brought us younger readers, down to 6-8 or so, and we do a wide array for the 15+ crowd, too. We don’t do many superhero books, but cover horror, fantasy, action/adventure, and have dabbled in sci fi, crime, westerns and others.

Henry: I’m looking forward to seeing Ashley Wood’s interpretation of My Little Pony vs. Zombies…

Tell us about your latest publication
I just sent the final issue of my series ‘The Colonized’ (zombies vs aliens) to press, and am co-writing a Kiss Kids comic aimed at all-ages readers, too.

Henry: Zombies AND Aliens – what’s not to like?

What do you hope readers will get from that?
An enjoyable read, which is all I ask of any of our comics.

What aspect of publishing do you find most challenging?
The non-stop aspect of it. Deadlines never let up, and the fact that there’s so much good material out there, but limited space makes it a challenge. I hate to say “no” to good projects, but you have to at times.

What is a powerful lesson you’ve learned from being a publisher?
Don’t be afraid to say “no”. Stringing people along because I don’t want to make them feel bad is never a good thing, whereas sometimes “no” can serve as impetus to prove me wrong. At least, I hope that’s the case.

Henry: So, sometimes your mouth says “no”, but your heart say “yes”. 🙂 So, my idea for My Little Pony vs. Zombies…

What is a memorable experience you’ve had?
Hard to cite one example, but they happen almost daily. My first week on the job, I was on a panel with Will Eisner. I’ve developed incredible friendships with some of the most creative and inspiring people I could ever hope to meet, and had many chances to work with childhood heroes. All of that makes this incredibly gratifying and enriching, even on the more challenging days.

Henry: I totally agree. I’ve gotten to meet authors and illustrators (and publishers!) I admire.

What advice would you give to aspiring graphic novel authors or illustrators?
You’ve got to love this business. It’s frustrating, humbling, and requires great patience and great love. Overnight success stories are very hard to come by, and often even the most successful “breakout” creators spent years in obscurity, proving they had what it took and honing their craft.

Do you have any favorite quotes?
I’ve always been partial to the line from that song from Willy Wonka, “There is no life I know to compare with pure imagination.”

Henry: Nice. Gene Wilder all the way. I also like, “So shines a good deed in a weary world.”

Do you have any strange work rituals?
I notice that in order to keep up with the daily onslaught, I tend to reply to all e-mails as I’m reading them. So, at times, I’ll end up contradicting myself in a reply because I hadn’t read the whole message before starting to reply.

Henry: Or as Willy Wonka would say, “So much time and so little to do. Wait a minute. Strike that. Reverse it.” It just struck me Chris. You ARE the Willy Wonka of graphic novels.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?
The ability to stop time so I could actually catch up on things.

If you could have three authors over for dinner, who would it be?
Rod Serling, Harlan Ellison, and Neil Gaiman. Their body of work and varied interests are answer enough, and all were/are strong personalities. I’m lucky enough to be friends with Harlan, and he is always interesting to talk to over a meal.

Henry: Jealous!

What is your favorite creature that exists only in literature?
The Hulk. Because Hulk smash. Always good to have someone ready to smash your enemies for you.

Henry: Yes, The Hulk is the correct answer because Hulk smash. Just ask Loki.

What do you like to do when you’re not working?
Write… which means I’m really never not working. But since I enjoy it, it never feels like work. That and spend time with my daughter, who is also a big reader already, even at age 7.

Henry: My sons and I will have a new book out for your daughter (and others) soon. 🙂

What would you like it to say on your tombstone?
“Sorry, I’m not accepting any more pitches.”

Henry: You’ll still figure out a way. Dropbox?

Where can readers find out more about IDW?
IDW’s website. I’m also on Twitter at @chris_ryall and I post a lot of artwork at a Tumblr page called Ryall’s Files, too. This year, IDW is at SDCC booth 2643.

Here are some sample IDW publications:

Fallen Angel by Peter David and JK Woodward

FallenAngel

One of the most critically acclaimed series of 2004 makes the jump to IDW, as new artist J.K. Woodward introduces readers to the enigmatic city of Bete Noire.

Locke & Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez

LockeAndKey
Acclaimed suspense novelist and New York Times best-selling author Joe Hill(Heart-Shaped Box) creates an all-new story of dark fantasy and wonder

Wake the Dead by writer Steve Niles

WakeTheDead
Modern master of horror Steve Niles (30 Days of Night, Dark Days) teams with art sensations Chee and Milx to present a tale guaranteed to terrify!

Popbot by Ashley Wood

Popbot

Popbot is an award-winning prestige format comic book written & illustrated by Ashley Wood. It features an eclectic cast of characters starring a talking rock star cat, his robot bodyguard, sexy women, robot-ninja assassins & more.

Angel

Angel
The continuing adventures of Joss Whedon’s classic vampire character, Angel.

Doctor Who

DoctorWho
The Doctor, the last of the Time Lords, survivor of the Great Time War, and along with his loyal companions, he stops oppression, darkness, and evil from spreading throughout the galaxies.

G.I. Joe

GIJoe
G.I. JOE is the world’s last defense against nefarious forces bigger than any one nation.

Star Trek

StarTrek
The five-year voyage of the Starship Enterprise was just the beginning of a rich mythology envisioned by Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry, one filled with a myriad of stories and characters.

Terminator: Salvation

Terminator
The year is 2018. With John Connor as the voice of the resistance, the scattered remnants of humanity find themselves united against their common enemy—Skynet and its Terminators.

Transformers

Tranformers
TRANSFORMERS comics pit Optimus Prime and his heroic Autobots against Megatron and the evil Decepticons!

This article is also posted to the San Diego Children’s Books Examiner.

Author: Henry Herz

Children's book author

Leave a Reply

