henryherz.com

Children's & Fantasy/Sci-Fi Books

Interview with ‘Good Knight’ author Shelley Thomas

Leave a comment

Shelley Thomas is the author of the much heralded ‘Good Knight’ series of easy readers, as well as a storyteller known as the Storyqueen. She’s been writing (kind of messily, of course) since she could hold a pencil. Originally from New Mexico, she currently lives in Oceanside, CA with her husband, three daughters and various dogs.

ThomasShelley

Tell us about your latest book.

My latest book is a middle grade novel called ‘The Seven Tales of Trinket’. A brief description: Guided by a tattered map, accompanied by Thomas the Pig Boy, and inspired by the storyteller’s blood that thrums through her veins, eleven year-old Trinket searches for the seven stories she needs to become a bard like her father, who disappeared years before.

What do you hope readers will get from reading that book?

The story is a rollicking fantasy, filled with faeries, ghosts, selkies, banshees, and many other unusual creatures from Celtic folklore. I hope that readers will have a great time with Trinket and Thomas and enjoy their adventures. Also, I want readers to experience the wonders of storytelling and realize how amazingly rich the oral tradition is, filled with humor and sadness, just like real life.

What aspect of writing do you find most challenging?

It is often hard finding time to write! I am a full time teacher as well as an author. There is never enough time, so I have to be very creative. I wrote one of my books sitting in the car during my daughters’ dance lessons each week. I also write sometimes during my lunch break. Finding that balance between writing and real life is a constant struggle.

What advice would you give to aspiring authors?

Write every day if you can. It is really a good habit to get into if you want to be an author. Don’t be afraid to try and be awesome. Believe in yourself.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Flying. Absolutely.

What is your favorite creature that exists only in literature?

I am totally drawn to Celtic folklore, but I would be lying if I said I thought those creatures only existed in literature. Selkies, banshees, faeries—those legends have to come from somewhere, right? There’s always a little truth in every tale, sometimes more than a little. However, if I could live inside of any book, I would have loved to have attended Hogwarts (from Harry Potter) as a child. Heck, I’d love to attend Hogwarts as a grown up!

Where can readers find your work?

You can visit my website or my blog. All of my books are there!

This article is also posted to the San Diego Children’s Books Examiner.

Author: Henry Herz

Children's book author

Leave a Reply

